An appeal to Jens Pulver

Before I get going, I would just like to start by saying that I love Jens Pulver. The man is a warrior in every sense of the word. His early UFC fights with Caol Uno and BJ Penn contributed heavily to my decision to turn my back on traditional martial arts and to pursue a more realistic style of fighting. I can’t think of a single fighter in MMA history that better embodies what it means to be a fighter. His achievements in the sport of mixed martial arts are vast, and I’m sure that I’m not alone in saying that the man is a huge inspiration to me.

That being said, it’s really time to hang up the gloves. Jens hasn’t looked the same since his 2006 KO loss to Joe Lauzon (a relatively unknown newcomer at the time). Barring his quick guillotine win over Cub Swanson, he hasn’t beaten anyone notable since. In fact since his decline, Jens has gone 4 and 10. It could be argued that early on he was fighting very high calibre guys, so the losses weren’t that big a shock, but being brutally KO’d by Tim Elliot (Who?) this weekend really says a lot. I genuinely felt like crying when I watched it. To see how far one of my heroes has fallen truly saddens me.

I know that fighting means everything to you Jens, but for the sake of your health, and your fans masculinity, please call it a day.

I can’t bring myself to post the fight video, so I’ll post a video of the Jens Pulver I’d prefer to remember instead.

Leave a comment

